What is Hiragana? ひらがなは何ですか?

Hiragana is the more cursive and more widely used form of kana (syllabic writing) used in Japanese. It is used especially for function words and inflection.

The modern hiragana consists of 46 characters. There are 5 singular vowel sounds and 1 singular consonant sound.

The other 40 characters are consonant-vowel unions consisting of 9 consonants in combination with the 5 vowel sounds we discussed above.

3 characters (yi, ye, and wu) are unused and 2 characters (wi and we) are obsolete in modern Japanese. 1 character (wo を) is pronounced as the vowel sound “o” and is reserved for particle use only.

WHEW I know it does sound complicated but don’t worry once you get the hang of writing the characters and knowing what sounds they make it becomes easier. The best thing to do if you want to learn this language is to practice! You can do it! I will be including a chart to help visual learners better understand the concepts I’m talking about.

k s m n t h r g z d b p y w

Everyday, I will be going over stroke order and how to pronounce each character so keep checking back each day for more updates!

As always, if you have any questions please feel free to contact me at colormeindie@gmail.com or leave a comment below!



  1. Pingback: What is katakana? カタカナは何ですか? | Japanese 101

  2. Pingback: Today’s Phrase in Japanese. (Guidelines) 日本語での今日のフレーズ。(ガイドライン) | Japanese 101

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s